Faculty Help

COURSE ADMINISTRATION

Restore a backup file

Click here for a print-friendly copy of this page!

I want to Restore:

 
NOTE: you first need a backup file to be able to restore, if you do not have one please refer to the backup procedures found here

Restore an OLD Moodle 1.9 backup file into a new Moodle course shell

  • locate your Settings block
  • Click on Course Administration >> Restore
  • You will now be on a page titled Import a backup file
  • Click Choose a file (grey button)
  • The File Picker will open up
    • on the left side, click Upload a file
    • on the right click on Choose File
    • navigate to your saved backup file
    • Click Upload this File
  • Click Restore (grey button)
  • You will see a page titled Backup details - scroll down to the bottom and click Continue (grey button on the bottom)
  • You will now see a page that gives you the option to Merge the course content or to Delete existing content first
  • Choose Merge the backup course into this course
  • Click Continue
  • You will now see a page titled Restore settings - keep the defaults, scroll down and click Next
  • You will now see a page titled Course settings - keep the defaults, scroll down and click Next
    • Note: if you choose to overwrite course configuration you may encounter unwanted behavior such as changing the course name as well as losing the self-enrolment option for students
  • Scroll to the bottom of the page and click Perform restore
  • When the restore is complete click the Continue to return to your course
    • Note: You may have to re-set your template to Topics if that is what you previously used

[ TOP ]






Restore a Moodle 2 backup file into a new Moodle course shell (without bringing over old student data)

  • locate your Settings block
  • Click on Course Administration >> Restore
  • You will now be on a page titled Import a backup file
  • Click Choose a file (grey button) to open up the File Picker
  • On the left side of the File Picker, you have some choices:
    • Choose Recent files if the course you are restoring was recently backed up from another Moodle course
      • A list of files will appear on the right side of the File Picker
      • Click on the backup file name (eg, backup-moodle-longname-1234.mbz)
      • click Select this file (grey button)
    • Choose Upload a file if you are uploading a backup file from your personal computer or network drive
      • An upload box will appear on the right side of the File Picker
      • Click Choose File
      • Navigate to your saved backup file
      • Click Upload this File
  • Click Restore (grey button)
  • You will see a page titled Backup details - scroll down to the bottom and click Continue (grey button on the bottom)
  • You will now see a page that gives you the option to Merge the course content or to Delete existing content first
  • Choose Delete existing content first  (if you are simply merging one or more specific items into a pre-existing course use the import process)
    • (merging 2x backup files may cause unwanted behavior such as duplicating enrolment key instances)
  • Scroll down and click Next
  • You will now see a page titled Restore settings
  • De-select Include enrolled users (Note: you will only see this option if you are using a backup file that actually contains student data)
  • Scroll down and click Next
  • You will now see a page titled Course settings - Keep all the defaults - scroll down to the bottom of the page and click Next
    • Note: if you choose to overwrite course configuration you may encounter unwanted behavior such as changing the course name as well as losing the self-enrolment option for students
  • Scroll to the bottom of the page and click Perform restore
  • When the restore is complete click the Continue to return to your course

  [ TOP ]

 

 


 

Restore a Moodle 2 backup file into a new Moodle course shell (keeping all student data in tact)

Note: In order to restore student data, you must back up student data first.  If you did not include student data when you backed up your course site the student data options will be disabled by default.  See Backup Procedures for more information.

  • locate your Settings block
  • Click on Course Administration >> Restore
  • You will now be on a page titled Import a backup file
  • Click Choose a file (grey button) to open up the File Picker
  • On the left side of the File Picker, you have some choices:
    • Choose Recent files if the course you are restoring was recently backed up from another Moodle course
      • A list of files will appear on the right side of the File Picker
      • Click on the backup file name (eg, backup-moodle-longname-1234.mbz)
      • click Select this file (grey button)
    • Choose Upload a file if you are uploading a backup file from your personal computer or network drive
      • An upload box will appear on the right side of the File Picker
      • Click Choose File
      • Navigate to your saved backup file
      • Click Upload this File
  • Click Restore (grey button)
  • You will see a page titled Backup details - scroll down to the bottom and click Continue (grey button on the bottom)
  • You will now see a page that gives you the option to Merge the course content or to Delete existing content first
  • Choose Delete existing content first  (if you are simply merging one or more specific items into a pre-existing course use the import process)
    • (merging 2x backup files may cause unwanted behavior such as duplicating enrolment key instances)
  • Scroll down and click Next
  • You will now see a page titled Restore settings - user data will be selected by default
  • Scroll down and click Next
  • You will now see a page titled Course settings - Keep all the defaults - scroll down to the bottom of the page and click Next
    • Note: if you choose to overwrite course configuration you may encounter unwanted behavior such as changing the course name as well as losing the self-enrolment option for students
  • Scroll to the bottom of the page and click Perform restore
  • When the restore is complete click the Continue to return to your course

[ TOP ]