Faculty Help

STUDENT ACCESS

How do Students Access Moodle


Students must first log in to the Moodle website using their Username and password that was assigned to them upon registration.

Commencing with the Summer 2015 term courses, students will be automatically enrolled into Moodle course sites. When students log into Moodle, the courses they are registered in will appear under their "My courses" list - just as they do for you - automatically.

Students will not have access to or know the course site exists until the instructor makes it available.

Daily synchronization with Banner will ensure that all course sites are up to date, including late enrolments and dropouts.

Instructors must also make sure their course sites are visible before students can access them. How do I make my course site visible?

Check out the FAQs below for more detail and contact itservicedesk@capilanou.ca or call 4952 (604.984.4952) with any additional questions or concerns you may have!


What if I don't use Moodle? Will the students see an empty site for my course?

Does this mean that I don't have to wait to send notices to students using the News Forum?

How do I get a Moodle course site?

How do I get content into my Moodle course site?

Why is my name not showing up at the end of my Moodle course site anymore?

How do students access my Moodle course site?

Can any student get into my Moodle course site?

What happens if students are late registering to my class?

What happens if a student drops my class?

What happens if a student is inadvertently removed from my Moodle course along with all of his/her course data?

Can I add students to my course site that are not actually registered in my class?

What if I don't use Moodle? Will the students see an empty site for my course?
No. Students will not have access to course sites that are not made available by the teacher. If you do not use Moodle you do not need to do anything, the course shell that is generated will remain inactive and unavailable to students.
Back to top

Does this mean that I don't have to wait to send notices to students using the News Forum?
You can post as many messages as you like in the News Forum for your students to read once they gain access to the site however, the messages will not be forwarded to their email until you make the course visible. By making your course visible, you are making it available to your students and they will then be able to enter the course site and receive messages that are initiated through Moodle.
Back to top

How do I get content into my Moodle course site?
If faculty wish to re-use the same content from a course that was previously taught, all or some of the contents can be copied/imported from a prior term. Click here for instructions
Back to top

Why is my name not showing up at the end of my Moodle course site anymore?
Instructor names were originally appended to course site names so that it would make it easier for students to be able to find the right course site in which to self enrol. Now that student enrolment into course sites is automated there is no longer a need for this.
Back to top

How do students access my Moodle course site?
Students will be automatically enrolled into Moodle course sites. When students log into Moodle, the courses they are registered in will appear in their My Courses list just as they do for you, automatically. However, students will not have access or know the course site exists until you make it visible.

At the end of each term, by default, students will remain in the course site and will still have access (this will accommodate any course that runs cross-term. Faculty who wish to remove students when a course is finished simply need to make the course unavailable to students by hiding it. This option removes student access while retaining all of the student data.
Back to top

Can any student get into my Moodle course site?
Only students that are registered in your course will be automatically added. If you want to invite other students into your Moodle your course site you can do so by adding them manually.
Back to top


What happens if students are late registering to my class?
Daily synchronization with Banner will ensure that all course sites are up to date with late enrolments.
Back to top

What happens if a student drops my class?
Daily synchronization with Banner will ensure that all course sites are up to date with drops.
Back to top

What happens if a student is inadvertently removed from my Moodle course along with all of their course data (eg, quiz results, grades, etc.)?
The student, along with all of their course data, will re-appear in your Moodle course site one day after is replaced in the Banner system. If the student requires immediate access to the site and cannot wait for this process they can be added back to the course site manually by the teacher or a Moodle Administrator.
Back to top

Can I add students to my course site that are not registered in my class?
You can add any number of additional users to your course site. These can be students that are not yet registered, colleagues, etc.

  • Locate your Administration block
  • Click on Course Administration >> Users >> Enrolled users
  • Click on the grey button titled Enrol Users (top right corner)
  • In the search box at the bottom of the form, type the name of student you wish to add and click enter on the keyboard
  • Click the grey enrol button to the right of the name of the person you with to add. If the person does not appear in the list you may have typed his or her name incorrectly (try a more generic search, eg last name only) or the person already exists in the list
  • Click the button Finish enroling users on the bottom of the pop-up window

Back to top

Alternate methods of student access:

Manual enrolment

Students can be added to course sites manually.

  • Click on Participants in your course located in either the People block or the left side sliding menu

  • In the Participants area click on the "gear" icon at the top right and then choose Enrolled users

  • Click on the Enrol users button at the top right

  • In the search box at the bottom of the form, type the name of student you wish to add and click on the Search button

  • From the Assign roles  drop down list choose the role of the person you wish to add i.e. Teacher, Student etc.

  • Click the Enrol button to the right of the name of the person you wish to add to the course
    • If the person does not appear in the list you may have typed his or her name incorrectly (try a more generic search, eg last name only) or the person already exists in the list

  • Click the Finish enroling users button at the bottom of the pop-up window

Self enrolment

Students can also access Moodle course sites using the Self enrolment method. This allows students to enroll themselves in Moodle courses. Teachers must first designate an enrollment key - or password - to grant students access to their course site. This enrollment key can be given to students during class or by email using the Class Email Distribution List.

  • Click on Participants in your course located in either the People block or the left side sliding menu

  • In the Participants area click on the "gear" icon at the top right and then choose Enrolment methods

  • Next to Add method choose Self enrolment from the drop down list

  • You will now see a new window titled Self enrolments

  • Next to Enrolment key click on the Click to enter text link

  • Enter an enrolment key (or password) in the box

  • Click on the little magnifying glass to the right of the box to see the enrollment key in plain English and check spelling

  • Complete any other details you may require (most users need only the enrolment key)

  • Click on the Add method button at bottom of the page to save changes